2013 Coach of the Year Awards

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association is pleased to announce the winners of its National Coach of the Year Awards. These awards are voted on by the membership of the CRCA and are intended to recognize head coaches whose teams have had outstanding success throughout the current season and who have demonstrated a high level of professionalism and integrity as a coach. The DI assistant coach of the year is intended to recognize an assistant coach who has had a significant impact on the performance of his/her team, has shown outstanding commitment to his/her coach and has demonstrated a high level of professionalism and integrity as a coach. Below are the names of the winners of the CRCA National Coach of the Year awards.

Division I

Head Coach: Andrew Teitelbaum – Ohio State University

Completing his 17th year at the helm of Ohio State Women’s Rowing, Coach Teitelbaum led his team to a first place team showing at the NCAA Rowing Championships this spring, finishing in 3rd place in the varsity 8, and winning the second varsity 8 and varsity 4 events. This was the first NCAA team championship for Coach Teitelbaum and Ohio State. This follows a team title earlier this year at the Big Ten Championships.

Assistant Coach: Diana Albrecht – Ohio State University

Diana was responsible for the Ohio State 2nd Varsity eight. The crew went undefeated this year, with victories over, Princeton, Brown, Harvard, UVA, Notre Dame, Michigan, and others, including winning their event at NCAA’s. Last year Albrecht’s crew was second at NCAAs and fourth the year before. She clearly is one of the premiere coaches in the country. Diana’s other duties include serving as Ohio State’s primary recruiter.

Division II

Head Coach: Stephen Frazier-Wong – Nova Southeastern University

Completing his first year at the helm of Nova Southeastern Women’s Rowing, Coach Frazier-Wong lead the Sharks to their first ever team championship at the NCAA Championships this spring, winning both the varsity 8 and varsity 4 events at the championship.

Division III

Head Coach: Mike Davenport – Washington College

Completing his 23 year at the helm of Washington College rowing, Coach Davenport lead the Shorewomen to a sixth place team finish at the NCAA championships this spring, finishing fifth in the varsity 8 event. Coach Davenport was also named the Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference coach of the year after winning the conference and securing the conferences first automatic bid to the Division III NCAA Championships.  It also marked the first time that Washington College qualified their team to NCAA’s.


Head Coach: Al Acosta – Stanford University

Completing his 11th year at the helm of the Lightweight Women’s team at Stanford, Coach Acosta led his team to their fourth consecutive IRA National title in the lightweight 8 in California earlier this June.